





3:00 p.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Kaisa Group Lecture Theater (IAS LT) HKUST Jockey Club Institute for Advanced Study



Remarks given by

Professor Nancy Y. IP

President

Professor Tim Kwang-Ting CHENG

Vice-President for Research and Development

Announcement of Honorees

Short Talks given by

Professor Berthold JÄCK

Assistant Professor in the Department of Physics

Professor Anthony Kwan LEUNG

Associate Professor in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering

Professor Rhea Patricia LIEM

Assistant Professor in the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Professor Chu ZHANG

Chair Professor in the Department of Finance

Group Photo







Khaled BEN LETAIEF

New Bright Professor of Engineering and Chair Professor in the Department of Electronic and Computer Engineering



Awarded Tunisia's national accolade for the Best Tunisian Researcher or Inventor Abroad in 2020



Che Ting CHAN

Daniel C K Yu Professor of Science and Chair Professor in the Department of Physics

Elected Fellow of the Hong Kong Academy of Sciences in 2021



Qing CHEN

Associate Professor in the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering and the Department of Chemistry

Named 2020 Excellent Young Scientist by the National Natural Science Foundation of China



Jimmy Chi Hung FUNG

Chair Professor in the Division of Environment and Sustainability and the Department of Mathematics



Recipient of the George Stephenson Medal (Second Best Paper Overall) in the Institution of Civil Engineers (ICE) Publishing Awards 2020



Guillermo GALLEGO

Professor Emeritus in the Department of Industrial **Engineering and Decision Analytics**



Recipient of the 2021 INFORMS Revenue Management and Pricing Section Prize by the Institute for Operations Research and the **Management Sciences**



Berthold JÄCK Assistant Professor in the Department of Physics

Recipient of the Croucher Tak Wah Mak Innovation

Award in 2022





Jeevan JAISINGH

Associate Professor of Business Education and Senior Lecturer in the Department of Information Systems, Business Statistics and Operations Management



Awarded the 2021 Michael G. Gale Medal for Distinguished Teaching



Tianling JIN

Associate Professor in the Department of Mathematics



Named 2021 Excellent Young Scientist by the National Natural Science Foundation of China



Gyu Boong JO

Hari Harilela Associate Professor of Physics and Associate Professor in the Department of Physics



Elected RGC Research Fellow 2021-2022 by the Research Grants Council



Kei May LAU

Professor Emeritus in the Department of Electronic and Computer Engineering



Recipient of the 2020 J. J. Thomson Medal for Electronics by the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET)



Ricky Shi-wei LEE

Chair Professor in the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering



Recipient of the 2021 Avram Bar-Cohen Memorial Award by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)



Anthony Kwan LEUNG

Associate Professor in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering



Recipient of the Outstanding Young Geotechnical Engineer Award by the International Society for Soil Mechanics and Geotechnical Engineering (ISSMGE)



Recipient of the Geotechnical Research Medal 2022
by Institution of Civil Engineers (ICE) Publishing





Jensen Tsan Hang LI
Professor in the Department of Physics

Awarded the Croucher Senior Research Fellowship

in 2022



Weiping LI
Chair Professor in the Department of Mathematics

Recipient of the 2021 Outstanding Scientific Research Output Award (First Class) by the Ministry of Education of the People's Republic of China



Rhea Patricia LIEM

Assistant Professor in the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Received the UGC Teaching Award 2021 under the category of Early Career Faculty Members by the University Grants Committee



Shiqing LING
Chair Professor in the Department of Mathematics

Awardee of the RGC Senior Research Fellow Scheme 2022-2023 by the University Grants Committee



Kam Biu LUK
IAS Paul C W Chu Professor and Chair Professor in the

Department of Physics

Awarded the Global STEM Professorship 2021 - 2022 by the Innovation and Technology Bureau and the Education Bureau, HKSAR Government



Randy Yat Choi POON
Chair Professor in the Division of Life Science

Awarded the Croucher Senior Research Fellowship 2021





Peiyuan QIAN

David von Hansemann Professor of Science and Chair Professor in the Department of Ocean Science and the Division of Life Science



Awarded the 2020 Oceanic Engineering Science and Technology Award by the China Association of Oceanic Engineering



Qiming SHAO

Assistant Professor in the Department of Electronic and Computer Engineering and the Department of Physics



Recipient of the 2022 IEEE Magnetics Society Early
Career Award at the 2022 Joint MMM-Intermag
Conference



Wei SHYY

Professor Emeritus in the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering



Bestowed with the distinction of Officer in the National Order of the Legion of Honour, conferred on behalf of the President of the French Republic



Fei SUN

Associate Professor in the Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering



Named 2021 Excellent Young Scientist by the National Natural Science Foundation of China



Gunther UHLMANN

IAS Si Yuan Professor and Chair Professor in the Department of Mathematics



Recipient of the 2021 AMS-SIAM George David Birkhoff Prize in Applied Mathematics jointly awarded by the American Mathematical Society (AMS) and the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM)





7he WANG

Assistant Professor in the Division of Environment and Sustainability



Named 2021 Excellent Young Scientist by the National Natural Science Foundation of China



Man WONG

Professor in the Department of Electronic and Computer Engineering



Recipient of 2021 Slottow-Owaki Prize awarded by the Society for Information Display (SID)



Raymond Chi Wing WONG

Professor in the Department of Computer Science and Engineering



Awarded the 2020 Michael G. Gale Medal for Distinguished Teaching



Ting XIE

Kerry Holdings Professor of Science and Chair Professor in the Division of Life Science



Received major funding support from the 11th Round of the Theme-based Research Scheme (TRS) 2021-22 organized by the Research Grants Council



Lianke YAN

IAS Sin Wai Kin Professor of Chinese Culture and Chair Professor in the Division of Humanities

- Awarded as one of the 12 Inaugural RSL International Writers by the Royal Society of Literature (RSL)
- Recipient of the 2021 Newman Prize for Chinese Literature awarded by the Institute for US-China Issues of the University of Oklahoma





Hai YANG

Chair Professor in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering



Recipient of 2021 Francis C. Turner Award presented by the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE)



Chu ZHANG
Chair Professor in the Department of Finance



Received major funding support from the 11th Round of the Theme-based Research Scheme (TRS) 2021-22 organized by the Research Grants Council



Jingdi ZHANG
Assistant Professor in the Department of Physics



Named 2021 Excellent Young Scientist by the National Natural Science Foundation of China

